My Fight vs Anatomy Continues…

 

 

IMG_-yotblb

 

So one of my biggest frustrations has always been anatomy – I can’t ever seem to connect things properly. I can draw muscles and bones individually – but together? Forget it! I’ve looked at Loomis and other often recommended anatomical artists but to no luck. But recently, after doodling some Batman and some Superwoman, I’ve found that this particular style really has helped me grasp anatomy better and better. Maybe it’s because everything is bigger and bolder? Who knows, I’m just glad it’s getting there.

So I begin with the head, and specifically with the popular hero, The Flash:

 

 

20170629_231549
Not bad for almost 2 years of no drawing!

 

 

I found it much easier to identify where the eyes and mouth should go, although I feel the jaw looks a little off because of the style it doesn’t upset the picture too much in my opinion. Adding in a bit of ink and clearing up some of the lines was a big help to see what I was doing:

 

20170629_231834
Bit of an oops on the nose but it’s getting there!

 

 

Overall though I honestly feel like the reason this style works for me is because it’s so fun. Sometimes academic -based drawing becomes such a drag I lose all motivation for it.

 

IMG_-yotblb
I see improvement!!

 

 

In short then I finally feel happy(ish) with facial anatomy. Tomorrow I want to try skulls to really get it down properly, I’m expecting some frustration with that but I feel much more up to the challenge. This has really taught me that deviating from the traditional approach to learning to draw really can push you, and motivate you further. Don’t ignore it – just don’t feel you have to spend hours only drawing heads or figures! It will drain you.

Until the next post…with skulls.

2 thoughts on “My Fight vs Anatomy Continues…”

Leave a comment